60 years of tradition, innovation and passion

The company’s history began in 1960 with founder Miguel Llombart’s dream: to distribute oranges and clementines from his hometown Nules (Castellón) in Spain, in Germany. Today, citrus fruits still represent one of the core competencies of the family business. With the founding of Llombart in Spain in 1981, the portfolio expands to include stone fruit, vegetables and salads. In 1998, the family founded the company Orange X-Press, as specialists in citrus fruits. Since 1999, Juan Llombart, as managing director, has been responsible for the continued success of the import and export of fruit, vegetables and salads.

FH: Tell us your secret of success: what distinguishes LLOMBART GmbH?

J: At this point I would like to refer to another affinity: we live our business like the love of cooking: We take experience as a basis, gained from decades of tradition, add a generous sense for trends and innovations and garnish everything with passion – that’s how we grow a bit beyond ourselves every day. I am very grateful to my family, and I also count our employees among them, for striving for quality and reliability every day. It fills me with pride. Without them, our story would not be possible.

FH: If you take up the topic of trends, what significant developments in consumer behaviour do you see yourself confronted with in the industry at present and for the near future?

J: We are experiencing a new awareness of consumers towards food. This includes values such as sustainability and regionality, but also the topic of health, conscious enjoyment and thus a holistically increased interest in product worlds and their benefits. This is accompanied by an increased willingness to spend more money on good quality. We are now faced with the challenge of making fruit and vegetables from all over the world palatable to consumers all year round, in addition to their preference for regional products. For this, a sustainable supply chain is just as indispensable as the topic of research, innovation and communication, in order to be able to bring together both interests, which at first glance seem to contradict each other.

FH: In your opinion, what are the essential measures to push the issue of sustainability?

J: We need a change in thinking. Consumers are actively demanding transparency and background information. This is our chance to meaningfully pick up consumers at the relevant touchpoints and to educate them. One example is the topic of packaging. A large proportion of consumers demand that fruit and vegetables be sold without packaging. However, this leads to a significant shortening of the shelf life, which in turn leads to increased food waste. The example of the uncoated cucumber makes this conflict of interest particularly clear. The promotion of natural-based coating processes can be an essential measure. Furthermore, we pay great attention to the expansion of compensatory areas of cultivation in production. On our partner fincas, we attach great importance to space for fauna and complementary flora. This implies a constant questioning of our own value chain and our own claim to deal responsibly with the available resources. At the same time, the relevance and potential of innovations in the sector become clear.

FH: What requirements, but also opportunities, can be derived from the developments mentioned for the fruit and vegetable sectors?

J: Our industry is already emerging as a winner from market developments. The proportion of those interested in or opting for alternative diets, such as vegetarianism or veganism, is growing steadily. We want to give fruit and vegetables a new role in the eyes of society. We have identified topics such as anti-aging, antioxidants or anti-inflammatory components as drivers. We want to pick up on the consumers’ awareness of health that has been mentioned and provide answers. To do this, we need to promote the corresponding fruits. We want to create wow effects and, in doing so, also reposition the citrus fruit on the market as a currently still unrecognised super fruit.

FH: How do you want to help this misunderstood superfruit gain more recognition?

J: Educational work is necessary here. In the Mediterranean region, it has long been perceived as a valuable enrichment of the Mediterranean diet and recognised by leading ecotrophologists. On the German market, consumers are not yet aware of the health benefits to the same extent. With new, innovative varieties in terms of taste and visual highlights, such as red or pink flesh, we surprise and stand out from the crowd. A fresh orange juice cannot be topped, as long as the quality of the fruit and the production process allow it.

FH: What role does your company Orange X-Press, founded in 1998, play in this overall concept?

J: The production process is the key. The Orange X-Press presses the juice oranges in a gentle way and at the same time extracts maximum fruit juice. Conventional processes squeeze the oranges, releasing bitter substances from the peel. Our Orange X-Press goes hand in hand with our 365-day orange concept. Matching bottles and other accessories round off the portfolio. Short reaction times and the longevity of the machine are what set us apart.

FH: What is your vision for the fruit, vegetable and salad business?

J: We are convinced that the value chain from the earth to the shelf needs a stronger involvement of producers. We understand the mutual relationship in the triangle between food retail [grocery trade], specialist and producer as a partnership construct. That is why we provide our customers with our entire know-how and services with the strong involvement of the producers. It is our concern to create perspectives for improvement and innovation for the producers so that they can invest to be prepared for bad years and climate catastrophes. It is important to us that the relationship of trust in the origin continues. Ultimately, this is the only way to ensure long-term commodity security for all partners in the trade.

Fruchthandel Magazine Anniversary 5000 Issue (06.03.2021). 60 years of tradition, innovation and passion, 09/2021, p. 37 (3)

Previous Post
Freshplaza on LLOMBART and Red Citrus Varieties
Next Post
LLOMBART Business Bikes – for our environment
Menu

60 Jahre Tradition, Innovation und Leidenschaft

Die Firmengeschichte beginnt 1960 mit dem Traum von Gründer Miguel Llombart: das Vertreiben von Orangen und Clementinen aus seiner Heimat Spanien, der Stadt Nules (Castellón), in Deutschland. Noch heute stellen Zitrusfrüchte eine der  Kernkompetenzen des Familienunternehmens dar. Mit der Gründung von Llombart Spanien im Jahre 1981 erweitert sich das Portfolio um Steinobst, Gemüse und Salate. 1998 gründet die Familie, als Spezialist für Zitrusfrüchte, die Firma Orange X-Press. Juan Llombart zeichnet seit 1999 als Geschäftsführer den weiteren Erfolgsweg des Imports und Exports von Obst, Gemüse und Salaten.

FH: Verraten Sie uns Ihr Erfolgsgeheimnis: Was zeichnet Llombart GmbH aus?

J: Ich nehme an dieser Stelle gerne Bezug zu einer weiteren Affinität. Wir leben unser Geschäft wie die Liebe zum Kochen: Man nehme Erfahrung als Basis, gewonnen aus jahrzehntelanger Tradition, füge großzügig Gespür für Trends und Innovationen hinzu und garniere alles mit Leidenschaft – so wachsen wir jeden Tag ein Stück über uns hinaus. Ich bin meiner Familie, und dazu zähle ich auch unsere Mitarbeiter, für das tägliche Streben nach Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit sehr dankbar. Es erfüllt mich mit Stolz. Ohne sie wäre unsere Geschichte nicht möglich.

FH: Wenn Sie das Thema Trends aufgreifen, mit welchen maßgeblichen Entwicklungen im Konsumentenverhalten sehen Sie sich in der Branche derzeit und für die nahe Zukunft konfrontiert?

J: Wir erleben ein neues Bewusstsein der Konsumenten gegenüber Lebensmitteln. Dazu gehören Werte wie Nachhaltigkeit und Regionalität, aber auch das Thema Gesundheit, bewusster Genuss und damit ein ganzheitlich gestiegenes Interesse an Produktwelten und deren Benefits. Damit einher geht die gestiegene Bereitschaft mehr Geld für gute Qualität auszugeben. Wir stehen nun vor der Herausforderung dem Konsumenten, zusätzlich zu seiner Präferenz regionaler Produkte, ganzjährig Obst und Gemüse aus aller Welt schmackhaft zu machen. Dafür ist eine nachhaltige Supply-Chain genauso unabdingbar wie das Thema Forschung, Innovation und Kommunikation, um beide sich im ersten Moment widersprechenden Interessen zusammenbringen zu können.

FH: Was sind Ihrer Meinung nach wesentliche Maßnahmen um das Thema Nachhaltigkeit zu forcieren?

Wir brauchen ein Umdenken. Der Konsument fordert aktiv Transparenz und Hintergrundinformationen ein. Das ist unsere Chance, die Verbraucher an den relevanten Touchpoints sinnvoll abzuholen und Aufklärungsarbeit zu leisten. Ein Beispiel bietet das Thema Verpackung. Ein großer Teil der Verbraucher fordert den Verkauf von Obst und Gemüse ohne Verpackung. Das führt jedoch dazu, dass sich das Shelf Life signifikant verkürzt und dies wiederum zu erhöhtem Food Waste. Am Beispiel der unfolierten Gurke wird dieser Interessenkonflikt besonders deutlich. Die Forcierung von Coating-Verfahren auf Naturbasis kann eine wesentliche Maßnahme darstellen. Des Weiteren achten wir in der Produktion sehr auf den Ausbau von Ausgleichsflächen der Bewirtschaftung. Wir legen auf unseren Partner-Fincas Wert auf Platz für Fauna und ergänzende Flora. Dies impliziert ein ständiges Hinterfragen der eigenen Wertschöpfungskette und den eigenen Anspruch verantwortungsbewusst mit den vorhandenen Ressourcen umzugehen. Zugleich werden die Relevanz und das Potenzial von Innovationen in der Branche deutlich.

FH: Welche Anforderungen, aber auch Chancen, lassen sich aus den angesprochenen Entwicklungen für die Obst- und Gemüse Branche ableiten?

J: Unsere Branche geht schon jetzt als Sieger aus den Marktentwicklungen hervor. Der Anteil derer die sich für alternative Ernährungsformen, wie Vegetarismus oder Veganismus, interessieren oder entscheiden wächst stetig. Wir wollen Obst und Gemüse in den Augen der Gesellschaft eine neue Rolle zukommen lassen. Themen wie Anti-Aging, Antioxidantien oder antiinflammatorische Komponenten haben wir als Treiber identifiziert. Wir wollen das angesprochene Bewusstsein der Konsumenten für Gesundheit aufgreifen und Antworten liefern. Dazu gilt es die entsprechenden Früchte zu fördern. Wir wollen Wow-Effekte schaffen und dabei auch die Zitrusfrucht, als derzeit noch verkannte Superfrucht, auf dem Markt neu positionieren.

FH: Wie wollen Sie dieser verkannten Superfrucht zu mehr Anerkennung verhelfen?

J: Hier ist Aufklärungsarbeit notwendig. Im Mittelmeerraum wird sie längst als eine wertvolle Bereicherung der Mittelmeerdiät wahrgenommen und von führenden Ökotrophologen anerkannt. Auf dem deutschen Markt sind den Konsumenten die gesundheitlichen Benefits noch nicht in dem Ausmaß bewusst. Mit neuen, innovativen Sorten hinsichtlich Geschmack und optischen Highlights, wie rotem oder pinkem Fruchtfleisch, überraschen wir und stechen aus der Masse heraus. Ein frischer Orangensaft ist nicht zu toppen, sofern es die Qualität der Frucht und das Produktionsverfahren hergibt.

FH: Welche Rolle spielt in diesem Gesamtkonzept Ihre in 1998 gegründete Firma Orange X-Press?

J: Das Produktionsverfahren ist der Schlüssel. Die Orange X-Press presst die Saftorangen auf schonende Art und Weise und gewinnt zugleich maximal Fruchtsaft. Herkömmliche Verfahren quetschen die Orangen, wodurch Bitterstoffe der Schale freigesetzt werden. Unsere Orange X-Press geht Hand in Hand mit unserem 365-Tage-Orangenkonzept. Passende Flaschen und weiteres Zubehör runden das Portfolio ab. Kurze Reaktionszeiten und die Langlebigkeit der Maschine zeichnen uns aus.

FH: Welche Vision haben Sie für das Geschäft mit Obst, Gemüse und Salaten?

J: Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass die Wertschöpfungskette von der Erde bis ins Regal einer stärkeren Einbindung der Erzeuger bedarf. Wir verstehen die wechselseitigen Beziehungen im Dreieck zwischen Lebensmitteleinzelhandel, Spezialist und Erzeuger als ein partnerschaftliches Konstrukt. Darum stellen wir unseren Kunden unser gesamtes Know-How sowie Serviceleistung unter starker Einbindung der Erzeuger zur Verfügung. Es ist unser Anliegen, den Erzeugern Perspektiven für Verbesserung und Innovation zu schaffen, damit sie investieren können, um auf schlechte Jahre und Klimakatastrophen vorbereitet zu sein. Es ist uns wichtig, dass das Vertrauensverhältnis in den Ursprung weiter Bestand hat. Letztendlich lässt sich nur so die Warensicherung für alle Partner des Handels langfristig gewährleisten.

Fruchthandel Magazin Jubiläum 5000 Ausgabe (06.03.2021). 60 Jahre Tradition, Innovation und Leidenschaft, 09/2021, S. 37 (3)

Vorheriger Beitrag
Freshplaza über LLOMBART und Rote Zitrussorten
Nächster Beitrag
LLOMBART Business Bikes – der Umwelt zuliebe
Menü